Path of Meditation

Open for Anyone

These progressive programs are open to anyone. A student can enter this pathway without having taken the Buddhist refuge vows or having received any previous Buddhist teachings.

The Path of Meditation Levels 1 and 2 are required for all personal students of Phakchok Rinpoche.  Samye Institute has worked closely with Rinpoche to develop training courses that follow his recommended progression.  The student begins by understanding the ground, reconnecting with the purity and perfection that is our innate nature. The path of meditation guides the student to an experiential recognition of this truth.

New Content From the Path of Meditation

Five finger motivation

Five Finger Motivation

As Mahāyāna Buddhist practitioners, we are repeatedly encouraged to check our motivation. All the great masters teach that we should begin each practice session by taking a few moments to check our minds. In this audio clip, Rinpoche shares a memorable description of the various types of motivation. He uses the five fingers of a human hand to measure different types of motivation.

Read More »


49 Lessons

Path of Meditation Level One

Phakchok Rinpoche guides students through a year-long experiential meditation practice program.

See more...

22 Lessons

Path of Meditation Level Two

Phakchok Rinpoche guides students to recognize the essence of thought and to distinguish mind from awareness.

See more...

79 Lessons

The Noble Wisdom of the Time of Death Sutra

Using a classic Mahayana Sutra, Phakchok Rinpoche gives pithy practice advice covering five core topics on the Buddhist path.

See more...

32 Lessons

Training the Mind

Phakchok Rinpoche introduces a step-by-step approach to understanding how our minds function.

See more...

Meditation as Transformation

In this teaching, Phakchok Rinpoche gives personal advice on how we can practice meditation that can lead beyond stress-reduction to genuine transformation. Rinpoche demonstrates how we can integrate self-reflection with formal practice so that our meditation develops naturally. Here he reminds us to develop an attitude of contentment and to avoid self-judgment, comparison, and expectation.

Each stage of the Path of Meditation is designed to take approximately one year. Individual progress will vary depending upon diligence and prior training. Students are advised to discuss progress with an instructor before moving from Level 1 to Level 2.  We recommend that when you have completed the Path of Meditation 1 and 2, you proceed to study the Noble Wisdom of the Time of Death and /or the Samadhi Raja Sutra teachings. Rinpoche reminds us that these two texts condense and distill the entire traditional Buddhist Path. 

Once you have completed the Path of Meditation 1 and 2, and the Samadhi Raja Sutra program, and receive the Pointing Out instruction directly, you have a choice of entering the Traditional Vajrayāna path or the Nine Yānas program. These two pathways will converge after a period of study, contemplation, and meditation. 

You should choose the path that fits your interest, time availability, and inclination. An instructor will be happy to help you find the best match.

In the Footsteps of Bodhisattvas

In this uncommonly practical and experiential guide, Phakchok Rinpoche teaches us how to achieve this correct view so we can genuinely practice a meditation that will transform our lives by helping us abandon our own bad habits and hypocrisy. Edited by Jack deTar.