Setup Menus in Admin Panel

Samye Institute

Setup Menus in Admin Panel

Categorizing Buddhist Teaching: Three Levels

Please take a few moments before you begin this teaching to settle yourself. Sit upright, yet naturally relaxed. Before listening to and/ or reading the teaching make aspirations such as: "I am extremely fortunate to have the opportunity to listen to the precious Dharma. I am doing this for the benefit of all sentient beings so that they may be free from suffering and attain complete awakening".

Three Levels

We can categorize Buddhist teachings in many different ways.  In this video excerpt from a teaching in Malaysia, Phakchok Rinpoche presents one classic view of three levels of teaching as laid out in the Tibetan Buddhist perspective.   Here, he explains that buddhas teach differently according to the capabilities and inclinations of their audience.  Therefore, we see different levels of teaching depending upon the interest and the motivation of disciples. Rinpoche reminds us that we need to begin with the teachings that we can understand and digest.


Translation in Chinese


Three Levels: The Beginning Teachings

We can understand that the buddhas appear to their listeners in a physical form that is approachable and understandable to them. So, when Śākyamuni Buddha taught the basic level of teachings, the fundamental teachings, he appeared as a human being.  Of course, he showed special signs and characteristics who had attained enlightenment,  but basically he appeared before his disciples as a human. In this form, he taught the fundamental teachings, and we often refer to this as the “first turning of the wheel of Dharma”.

The first turning teachings center on the mind and on discipline.  And in these teachings, the Buddha laid out core principles for our paths.  These include:

  1. The four truths of the noble ones
  2. The four thoughts that turn the mind to the Dharma, or the “four mind changings”
  3. The four seals of the Dharma
  4. The four immeasureable atttitudes

All Buddhists study, reflect on and practice these teachings. We can develop intellectual understanding of these important practices by reading and receiving teachings, and through continued contemplation.

Three Levels: The Teachings of the Mahāyāna

In the second turning of the Dharma wheel, the Buddha taught disciples who were not content with self-liberation. In the Mahāyāna, or Great Vehicle, context, the students were prepared for a vaster view.  Thus, the audience saw the Buddha not as a human being, but as an already enlightened being who manifested in order to teach.  Additionally, the retinue for these teachings includes the bodhisattvas who have already engendered the aspiration of great compassion. And the teachings emphasized the pāramitās, or perfections.

The view of the Mahāyāna stresses  three doors of liberation.  These are:

  1. Emptiness
  2. Absence of characteristics or marks
  3. Wishlessness, or non-focus

Again, these teachings are based upon the mind.  We should make efforts to hear, read, study and contemplate these principles and develop an intellectual appreciation. And by meditating on these topics, we can come to experience the truth of these teachings.

Three Levels: The Teachings of the Vajrayāna

And finally, in the third turning of the Dharma wheel, we encounter a much different scenario.  Buddhas teach Vajrayāna teachings by manifesting as the Buddha associated with a particular tantra.  And these buddhas teach to bodhisattvas who are advanced on the path.  Moreover, these teachings are no longer based upon the mind–instead, they are wisdom-based.

Because Vajrayāna reflects the essence or nature, we cannot merely comprehend intellectually.   So reading a lot of books is not going to help us in this instance. We need to experience the perfection of nature through practice itself. And this can be difficult to digest.  However, Rinpoche advises us that we need to simply follow the instructions, do the practices we are taught, and eventually we will experience everything as it is–perfect and pure.

At the end of the teaching, please remember to dedicate the merit of receiving a Dharma teaching. As you go through your day, take a few moments from time to time to recall these instructions.

Samye Dharma relies on the kind generosity of volunteers and sponsors to produce ongoing content. Please consider making a one-time or regular donation to help fund our continued work in archiving, producing and propagating the precious teachings of Kyabgön Phakchok Rinpoche, his family and many other kind teachers and instructors. Samye is a registered 501(c)(3) nonprofit in the USA and donations are tax-deductible.

Make a Donation

June 6, 2018

0 responses on "Categorizing Buddhist Teaching: Three Levels"

Leave a Message

©2018 Samye Institute
Samye Institute

Samye Institute